Online Learning & Remote Working

26th Mar 2020

These are unprecedented times, but Rochdale Training would like to reassure you that you will continue to have access to our services. 

In line with the latest government advice, Rochdale Training have switched to online learning and remote working to keep all of our learners, employers, staff and their families safe during the Coronavirus outbreak. 

 We know many of you may have questions about how the online learning and remote working will work, so we have put together some Q & A's - but please do not hesitate to get in touch if there is anything we haven't covered here.  

The coming weeks and months will be a challenge for us all, but we are confident we will be able to rise to the task and continue to provide the high level of service you have come to expect from us. 

 

Q1.  Can employers continue to recruit new apprentices during the outbreak?  

Yes.  This is our busiest time for school and college leaver applications, and we are keen that the 2020 leavers do not miss out on the Apprenticeship opportunities that will be available. Please note, school and college leavers will be applying earlier this year. The very best candidates will start to become available from April/May.  Employers recruiting early will secure the best candidates. 

 

Q2.  Can existing employees wanting to start their Apprenticeship be signed up? 

Absolutely! We are able to do remote sign-ups.  This will need the full support of the employer to ensure the apprentice engagement and that remote learning can take place. 

 

Q3.  Are Grants still available? 

Yes. £1,000 incentives are available for employers who recruit 16-18 year olds. 

 

Q4How will training be delivered?  

All training will take place remotelyEvery apprentice has a OneFile e-portfolio account and work will continue to be set via OneFile. We also use Microsoft Teams, Zoom, Skype, email and the telephone.  (VLE/Resources are available on your OneFile account). 

Q5What will happen to existing training or review visits that are planned?  

Regular training and progress reviews are a crucial part of the Apprenticeship.  These will be completed remotely via Microsoft Teams, Zoom, Skype or telephone. 

 

Q6Will end-point assessments take place as normal?  

We are working with the various EPA organisations and will contact the apprentices on an individual basis to discuss. 

 

Q7What if the apprentice becomes ill or needs to self-isolate?  

Apprenticeships are designed to work around interruptions such as illness and holidays. Where a longer break (of a month or more) is needed, a formal “break in learning” is possible. Apprentices who are working at home can continue as normal with their apprenticeship. 

 

Q8Who should I contact at Rochdale Training if I have any questions?  

We understand that the COVID-19 situation changes very quickly, and new questions may arise.  Our team are on hand to provide support: 

Jill Nagy, Chief Executive.  jnagy@rochdaleraining.co.uk 

Elaine Nelson, Quality Manager.  enelson@rochdaletraining.co.uk 

Sarah Ogden, Finance Manager.  sogden@rochdaletraining.co.uk 

Lee Shackleton, Data Manager. Lshackleton@rochdaletraining.co.uk 

Jeremy Roberts, Commercial Manager.  jroberts@rochdaletraining.co.uk 

*Rachel Yates, Engineering Manager.  ryates@rochdaletraining.co.uk 

*Bill Sandilands, Engineering Chief Instructor.  bsandilands@rochdaletraining.co.uk 

Cathy Partington, Business Admin Manager.  cpartington@rochdaletraining.co.uk 

Lisa DeCoza, Business Admin Team Leader.  ldecoza@rochdaletraining.co.uk 

Melissa Jackson, Business Admin Team Leader.  mjackson@rochdaletraining.co.uk 

Vicki Spencer, Health & Social Care Team Leadervspencer@rochdaletraining.co.uk 

Angela Bates, Mental Health First Aider.  abates@rochdaletraining.co.uk 

*Rachel Yates and Bill Sandilands can also be contacted for any Safeguarding issues. 

 

Additional Useful Information can be found at: 

Covid 19 Support for Businesses: 

 

Covid 19 Guidance for Apprentices, Employers and Training Providers: 

 

Go back